Skip to main content
These web pages use cascading style sheet features for formatting. You may still browse the text of the site, but for best results, use a modern CSS-enabled browser.
Title Image

Third NASA Formal Methods Symposium

Held at Hilton Pasadena Hotel

168 South Los Robles Avenue
Pasadena, California 91101, USA

Topics of interest include but are not limited to the following:
  • Theorem proving
  • Model checking
  • Real-time, hybrid, stochastic systems
  • SAT and SMT solvers
  • Symbolic execution
  • Abstraction
  • Compositional verification
  • Program refinement
  • Static analysis
  • Dynamic analysis
  • Automated testing
  • Model-based testing
  • Model-based development
  • Fault protection
  • Security and intrusion detection
  • Application experiences
  • Modeling and specification formalisms
  • Requirements specification and analysis

NFM 2011 is organized by Laboratory for Reliable Software (LaRS) at NASA's Jet Propulsion Laboratory.

It is the third edition of the NASA Formal Methods Symposium, organized by NASA's Formal Methods Groups on a yearly basis. The first in 2009 was organized at NASA Ames Research Center, Moffett Field, California. The second in 2010 was organized at NASA head quarters, Washington D.C. The symposium originated from the earlier Langley Formal Methods Workshop series.

Proceedings to be published in:

LNCS Springer

NASA does not allow NFM 2011 to charge a registration fee (this restriction is generally imposed on NASA conferences). There will therefore be no registration fee charged to participants!

Contact the chairs at:

Programme Committee

Rajeev Alur, U. of Pennsylvania, USA
Tom Ball, Microsoft Research, USA
Howard Barringer, U. of Manchester, UK
Saddek Bensalem, Verimag Laboratory, France
Nikolaj Bjoerner, Microsoft Research, USA
Eric Bodden, Technical U. Darmstadt, Germany
Marsha Chechik, U. of Toronto, Canada
Rance Cleaveland, U. of Maryland, USA
Dennis Dams, Bell Labs/Alcatel-Lucent, Belgium
Ewen Denney, NASA Ames, USA
Ben Di Vito, NASA Langley, USA
Matt Dwyer, U. of Nebraska, USA
Cormac Flanagan, UC Santa Cruz, USA
Dimitra Giannakopoulou, NASA Ames, USA
Patrice Godefroid, Microsoft Research, USA
Alex Groce, Oregon State U., USA
Radu Grosu, Stony Brook, USA
John Hatcliff, Kansas State U., USA
Mats Heimdahl, U. of Minnesota, USA
Mike Hinchey, Lero, Irish SE. Res. Centre, Ireland
Sarfraz Khurshid, U. of Texas at Austin, USA
Orna Kupferman, Jerusalem Hebrew U., Israel
Kim Larsen, Aalborg U., Denmark
Rupak Majumdar, Max Planck Institute, Germany
Kenneth McMillan, Microsoft Research, USA
Cesar Munoz, NASA Langley, USA
Madan Musuvathi, Microsoft Research, USA
Kedar Namjoshi, Bell Labs/Alcatel-Lucent, USA
Corina Pasareanu, NASA Ames, USA
Shaz Qadeer, Microsoft Research, USA
Grigore Rosu, U. of Illinois, USA
Nicolas Rouquette, NASA/JPL, USA
Kristin Rozier, NASA Ames, USA
John Rushby, SRI International, USA
Wolfram Schulte, Microsoft Research, USA
Koushik Sen, UC Berkeley, USA
Sanjit Seshia, UC Berkeley, USA
Natarajan Shankar, SRI International, USA
Willem Visser, U. of Stellenbosch, South Africa
Mahesh Viswanathan, U. of Illinois, USA
Mike Whalen, U. of Minnesota, USA

Programme Chairs

Mihaela Bobaru, NASA/JPL
Klaus Havelund, NASA/JPL
Gerard Holzmann, NASA/JPL
Rajeev Joshi, NASA/JPL

Steering Committee

Ewen Denney, NASA Ames
Ben Di Vito, NASA Langley
Dimitra Giannakopoulou, NASA Ames
Klaus Havelund, NASA/JPL
Gerard Holzmann, NASA/JPL
Cesar Munoz, NASA Langley
Corina Pasareanu, NASA Ames
James Rash, NASA Goddard
Kristin Y. Rozier, NASA Ames